“Flow like water, everything is temporary.”

“Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.” -Steve Jobs

This weekend I was reminded of what losing it all could feel like. Jarrod, my parents and I were driving back from a wedding in Fort Worth when we got calls and texts saying our condo complex was burning to the ground. Let that sink in for a moment. Burning. To. The. Ground. And we were in a car in Waco, unable to do a dang thing about it. Thankfully our pup was staying with friends or I would’ve been slightly hysterical.

Everyone got out of the burning buildings, but three firefighters were injured when the roof collapsed. It was on the news. It was in my email from the Austin American Statesman. The only thing we couldn’t clarify was which buildings were burning. For a moment, there was the still silence of thinking we may have lost everything. I’m not sure I have ever had that feeling in my life before. It was pretty surreal. Not upset. Nor mad. Just really quiet. Contemplative.

Of the 10 or so condo buildings, three burned. 40 people are without a home, 14 units were damaged, and it took 90 fire fighters to put out the fire caused by a transformer explosion. Nothing was salvageable. Thankfully, our condo association waters our trees so frequently that the moisture wouldn’t allow the trees to catch fire and spread to the other buildings. It could’ve easily taken down the entire complex. Our building was untouched. Sadly, we have friends who were in the buildings that burned, and thankfully, they are all safe, but still lost everything. Is there anything more eye opening than that? Every possession, gone.

 I immediately started thinking about what is important to me. What would I have taken with me if I only had one minute to grab it and get out? Honestly, I couldn’t think of anything. Besides my grandmother’s ring, which I probably wouldn’t have thought to grab in a split second, everything is replaceable. What an amazing thought to be reminded of. If I lost every material item I owned, I would still have everything I need; a loving husband, my pup, my family who I could stay with, and the strength and love within me to start fresh.

Flow like water, everything is temporary.

My friend, Shelby, posted that with a yoga photo yesterday and it couldn’t have come at a better time. My momma always says, “life is a river, not a lake.” Nothing stays the same. Life keeps moving and changing course. Sometimes you will come across rough waters and sometimes it will hardly feel like it’s moving, but it is never still. It was important that I had this reminder. My life is not set in stone. My earthly objects are not mine. I must strengthen myself, develop my soul, stimulate my mind, follow my passions, and live in love and gratitude. This world is so temporary. The universe so vast. It’s humbling. It’s here today and gone the next. A constant reminder to live every moment to the fullest, follow your heart, and embrace change with courage, strength and love.

Today’s Daily Affirmation: Today I will live in love. I will accept that life is temporary. I will follow my heart and pursue my passions. I will minimize the value I put on material things. I will squeeze my family in thanksgiving. I will feel gratitude for my life. I will connect with my soul and stimulate my spirituality. I have nothing to lose. I am already naked. I choose to embody love.

Leave a Reply

